Some Exciting News About the Kieffe & Sons Ford Ad

Well, a reader of this blog has generously sent me an audio clip of the obnoxious radio ad by Kieffe & Sons in Mojave, CA. The ad was run on 93.5, The Quake. Karen Peralta graciously sent me a copy of the advertisement. Thank you, Karen. WooHoo. The first couple of lines are missing from the recording, but we both have a pretty similar memory of what he said.

Get the audio for the ad.

Here is a transcript of the ad, with the missing part in blocks. Karen has more recently heard the ad, so I’m putting in what she remembers.

[“Did you know that there are people in this country who want prayer out of schools, “Under God” out of the Pledge, and “In God We Trust” to be taken off our money?”]

“But did you know that 86% of Americans say they believe in God? Since we all know that 86 out of every 100 of us are Christians, who believe in God, we at Kieffe & Sons Ford wonder why we don’t tell the other 14% to sit down and shut up. I guess I just offended 14% of the people who are listening to this message. Well, if that is the case then I say that’s tough, this is America folks, it’s called free speech. None of us at Kieffe & Sons Ford is afraid to speak out. Kieffe & Sons Ford on Sierra Highway in Mojave and Rosamond, if we don’t see you today, by the grace of God, we’ll be here tomorrow.”

Well, Mr Kieffe, you won’t be seeing me either today or tomorrow. And you certainly won’t be seeing my money. What an asshole. It seems that he is for free speech for himself and his majority, but the rest of us 14% are second class citizens who need to “sit down and shut up.” Also, his percentages are wrong. According to the Pew Poll, 10.6% say they don’t believe in God, and 73% identify as Christian.

What about a new version of the ad? After all “it’s called free speech.”

“Did you know that there are people in this country who are assholes that want to shove their religion in everyone’s faces? But did you know that 14% of Americans say they don’t believe in God? Since we all know that 14 out of every 100 of us are not Christians, who don’t believe in God, we at Kieffe & Sons Ford wonder why we don’t tell the other 86% to sit down and shut up. I guess I just offended 86% of the people who are listening to this message. Well, if that is the case then I say that’s tough, this is America folks, it’s called free speech. None of us at Kieffe & Sons Ford is afraid to speak out. Kieffe & Sons Ford on Sierra Highway in Mojave and Rosamond, if we don’t see you today, we’ll be here tomorrow.”

Now if an ad aired like this there would be massive protests of Christians everywhere. What if the ad targeted Jews or African Americans? Would any radio station air the ad?

Oh, and some advice for Mr. Kieffe & his sons:

[Note – Karen’s name and her audio is used with her permission.]

Previous Posts on this subject:
Jerk on the Radio
Obnoxious Ford Ad, Part 2
Obnoxious Ford Ad, Part 3
Here I Come, Tinseltown: I’ve Been Interviewed for DFA
Lets See if I can Get the Ad
Letter To The Ford Dealership
Feel The Burn

My interview on Dogma Free America with the recording of the ad.

136 Replies to “Some Exciting News About the Kieffe & Sons Ford Ad”

  1. Wow,deborahenger seems to be way,way out there in lala land, or else her imaginary, perfect,Christian Nation, which is carefully “cleansed” of any filthy nonbelievers like us.

    Like

  2. <>Ok you got me going again, speaking of nothing you know about, I did serve in the service along with the rest of my family! And if you were in then you took an oath that stated God in it! You just ignore that fact so why did you have to start on this ad, couldn’t just ignore it?<>I was addressing my comment to deborahenger, marie. Why so touchy? I emailed your company weeks ago about how the ad would be found offensive by lots of people. You guys never even bothered to reply to me. Hmmm, I guess someone should have listened to the ad at that point. I also made the point that the ad could have been made to invite everyone,with a special invitation to church people,if that is who you are trying to attract.

    Like

  3. <>Ok you got me going again, speaking of nothing you know about, I did serve in the service along witht he rest of my family! And if you were in then you took an oath that stated God in it! You just ignore that fact so why did you have to start on this ad, couldn’t just ignore it?<>Well Marie, I guess you don’t seem to know that the “So help me God” is optional. One can choose to not say anything or can say “I so affirm”. Look it up. I had no problem with simply leaving it off. The officer swearing me in did not have a problem with it, either when I joined the Air Force or when I earned a regular commission.I also did not have a problem swearing in someone who request any of the three options. It is the their ceremony and I’m there to make it easier for them, not to shove beliefs or the lack of them on someone.

    Like

  4. I want to change the view of atheists as so damn nice, because I am really sick of this (typical)relgious bigotry shit. I want them to cram their ridiculous mythology up their butts.

    Like

  5. I absolutely LOVE how deborahenger couldn’t say anything back to the arguments against her 10%/90% claim. Christians not recognising and accepting how wrong they are when proof is supplied to them? There’s something I’ve never seen before. ๐Ÿ˜‰

    Like

  6. <>I absolutely LOVE how deborahenger couldn’t say anything back to the arguments against her 10%/90% claim.<>Trolls are a weak breed; facts confuse them and make them stumble ;-).<>Christians not recognising and accepting how wrong they are when proof is supplied to them? There’s something I’ve never seen before.๐Ÿ˜‰<>And you’ll, um, never see it again :-D.

    Like

  7. Way to go Kieffe and sons! I heard about the TV station in Bakersfield running your ad and taking a pole on who would buy a car from you after hearing the ad and the pole was 88% would buy a car from you! lol lol lol And the lady who said she would drive from Washington DC to buy a car from you. Way to go! By the way, I know why you put the apology in, but the only thing I would apologize for would be the 86% who belive in GOD are everyone who believes in GOD, not just Christians. The 14% can rot. But before they ROT, I want to thank them because their whining was probably the best thing that could happen to Ford in a long time! lol

    Like

  8. @deborahengerhey thanks for your great christian attitude! that’s the kind of thing that really makes me want to come back to the church.i’m sure jesus is EXTREMELY proud! ๐Ÿ™‚have a nice day! ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

  9. Have you heard about this case? Great answer from the judge! In Florida , an atheist became incensed over the preparation of Easter and Passover holidays.. He decided to contact his lawyer about the discrimination inflicted on atheists by the constant celebrations afforded to Christians and Jews with all their holidays while atheists had no holiday to celebrate. The case was brought before a judge. After listening to the long passionate presentation by the lawyer, the Judge banged his gavel and declared, ‘Case dismissed!’ The lawyer immediately stood and objected to the ruling and said, ‘Your honor, how can you possibly dismiss this case? The Christians have Christmas, Easter and many other observances. Jews have Passover, Yom Kippur and Hanukkah..yet my client and all other atheists have no such holiday!’ The judge leaned forward in his chair and simply said, ‘Obviously your client is too confused to even know about, much less celebrate his own atheists’ holiday!’ The lawyer pompously said, ‘Your Honor, we are unaware of any such holiday for atheists Just when might that holiday be, your Honor?’ The judge said, ‘Well it comes every year on exactly the same date—April 1st! Since our calendar sets April 1st as ‘April Fools Day,’ consider that Psalm 14:1 states, ‘The fool says in his heart, there is no God.’ Thus, in my opinion, if your client says there is no God, then by scripture, he is a fool, and April 1st is his holiday! Now have a good day and get out of my courtroom!!

    Like

  10. Yea, your right. I’m not perfect, just forgiven. I wouldn’t want you to go back to the church, remember, it’s not about religion. Religion is man-made. It’s about a personal relationship with the one who created you. He is gentle, patient and desires to spend time with you. As a Christian, it is ok to become angry, especially when my God is offended.

    Like

  11. @deborahengerangry is one thing. telling me that i can rot? so very christian. you’ve been a wonderful witness and example for everyone here to see. ๐Ÿ™‚hey deb, have a great day…it’s been wonderful talking to you and please take care of yourself. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

  12. <>Way to go Kieffe and sons! I heard about the TV station in Bakersfield running your ad and taking a pole on who would buy a car from you after hearing the ad and the pole was 88% would buy a car from you!<>So he lost 22% of potential customers. Those 22% customers will not buy from him anymore. Looks like those pesky 14% plus their supports.

    Like

  13. <>He is gentle, patient and desires to spend time with you.<>Unlike his followers seem to be. <>As a Christian, it is ok to become angry, especially when my God is offended.<>How the hell can you presume to know the mind of an supposedly all powerful being? Talk about arrogance. Or is it a case of my god is an image of myself? Isn’t interesting that when Christians bring up the subject of what their god wants, by some coincidence, its always what they personally want as well.

    Like

  14. <>The lawyer immediately stood and objected to the ruling and said, ‘Your honor, how can you possibly dismiss this case? The Christians have Christmas, Easter and many other observances. Jews have Passover, Yom Kippur and Hanukkah..yet my client and all other atheists have no such holiday!’<>Actually we have Festivus (for the rest of us). HehHehHeh.

    Like

  15. <>He is gentle, patient and desires to spend time with you.<>I think you’re confusing your dog with a deity.

    Like

  16. <>yet my client and all other atheists have no such holiday!’<>miss half-a-brain hasn’t looked at a calendar evidently.last I looked, secular hollidays like birthday celebrations outnumbered the religious ones.<>Who cares if it’s true or not. It’s perfect, and funny.<>which is good description of your beliefs, evidently.In which case, I find flying dragons to be more perfect and amusing than your fictions.who cares if it’s true or not, right?LOLIt’s so damn funny how you like to shoot yourself in the head over and over again.

    Like

  17. <>As a Christian, it is ok to become angry, especially when my God is offended.<>oh… OK…poor woman is obviously nuts.

    Like

  18. Grrrr, arr… Angry! Ad, “shut up?? sit down??” Arrrg! Can’t… take… abuse… Must mock! Must… demonstrate… superiority of atheistic thought! Arrr! Must invoke Constootuuushun, even though it’s all BS and I always interpret it to my own needs anyway. Must demonstrate intolerance for religion as much as they demonstrate intolerance for me. Must mock, must mock. Feel better now… Now I go wield great intelligence elsewhere.

    Like

  19. Can someone who has a lot more credibility in this matter say something to those who have jumped to many conclusions?

    It is widely understood that this ad was both incorrect and blatant. But all of you should understand this ad was created during desperate times without the consent of Kieffe & Sons Ford employees. Unfortunately, this ad was released to the public despite what the employees wanted.

    As with everything in life, to take one nasty situation and blame a group of people for it is not only narrow minded, but possibly more ignorant than the information given in this ad.

    I would like one customer from Kieffe & Sons Ford to come forward and try to explain a negative experience with Kieffe & Sons Ford where the number one priority is to make sure the customers are taken care of.

    Sure K&S Ford is not perfect, everyone knows nothing is. Everything needs improvement, and no group of people should be blamed for one man's action.

    Like

  20. Guess what everyone who has persecuted Christians for this add…Mr. Kieffe is not even Christian!!! And it was his add!!! That's the problem with people off ALL beliefs, jumping to conclusions without any other evidence besides a radio add. That is completely left open for interpretation…how would 86% of you say this? Ahh, yes “how ignorant!”

    I guess none of you know abou advertising. Go read up on it and you will see it was a business tactic. You woul all gasp if you knew Mr. Kieffe doesn't believe. Get over yourselves! Oh, and sorry you wasted your time posting rediculous comments!

    Like

  21. Oh, please leave off the hysterical pearl clutching over the ad. I simply posted the ad and gave my opinion about the inherent hypocrisy in stating how American one is on one hand, and telling others who don't agree with you to sit down and shut up.

    Perhaps Keiffe & Sons will at least listen to future ads. They could have avoided all of this by simply paying attention to my email to them some months earlier. Perhaps they are a little wiser now.

    Like

  22. I'm for people having the right to believe in God or not. I'm also believe in the right to free speech. Having said all that, this what a lot of fail to realize in this great country of ours. No one should invoke their ideas on another person. It is okay express them but do not push them. For those who like pushing them you had better be prepare to be pushed back at. I think this is the case here. Unbeliever have agenda and want to push it, but do not like being pushed back at. Which is the same for most non-traditional groups. The thing here is FREE SPEECH allow everyone to have an opinion period.

    Like

  23. these comments need to be censured. I like opinions, but I do not need foul language to express or understand any thought. In a public place as this, the f… word has no place. Neither does a..h… Certainly this topic is not so hot as to need such vehemence as these words infer.

    Like

  24. Anonymous, this is my blog and I allow people to say what they will unless it is threatening or harassing someone. If you don't like it, get your own blog and enable moderation for comments.

    Like

  25. I reject any religion's dogma. Christians and Muslims have some nice people – but be careful – the Neo cons and zealots would sooner see you die if you do not agree with them.
    I always think of the employees I deal with at a business – not the owner or general manager who dreams this stuff up. I have my cars serviced at Kieffe & Sons because they are honest and do good work. But, the ad detracts from the dealership and is a “sad” commentary on the general AV area where right wing Christian BS abounds. Notice, I did not say fiscal conservative. I leave religious beliefs or a lack thereof out of my business decisions, which includes getting my car serviced or buying a car. Kieffe & Sons should, too.

    Like

Comments are closed.